Back to Africa Check

Not all Oreo biscuits are halal but NONE of them are made with pig’s milk

IN SHORT: Graphics and messages on social media claim that the Oreo biscuit is made with milk from pigs, adding that they are “forbidden for Muslims”. But these claims are completely unfounded.

Subscribers to Africa Check’s WhatsApp line “What’s Crap on WhatsApp?” have sent us a graphic claiming that Oreo biscuits are made with pig milk.

The popular biscuit brand was founded in the US in 1912. Oreo is known for its adverts that teach biscuit lovers to “twist, lick and dunk” their cookies.

“Warning, the company that manufactured this biscuit called Oreo proved that these biscuits are forbidden for Muslims because they are made from pork milk,” the graphic reads.

The same claim has made its way onto Facebook here and here.

By saying that Oreo cookies are made from pig’s milk and are not suitable for Muslims, the graphic and Facebook posts suggest that they are not halal.

Halal, also spelled halaal and meaning “lawful or permitted” in Arabic, refers to any object or act that is sanctioned by Islamic law. Although the word can be applied to any act or object, it is most commonly used to refer to food.

For example, the meat and all by-products of pigs are restricted under Islamic law and are not considered halal.

So if  Oreos contain pig milk, they would be haram, the opposite of halal. But is the claim true? We checked.


Ingredients depend on Oreo type, but no pig’s milk

On its frequently asked questions page, under the question "are they halal?", Oreo’s UK website says the biscuits are not halal-certified in Europe, but that their “composition or production process does not make them unsuitable for Muslim diet”.

“The exceptions to this are Oreo Strawberry Cheesecake, Oreo Choc’o Brownie, Oreo Enrobed Milk & White, Oreo Cadbury Coated and Oreo Crunchy Bites Dipped,” the website adds.

In a response to a question on X (formerly Twitter) whether Oreos are halal-certified in the US, Oreo said that halal certification depended on the country, but that Oreos were not halal-certified in the US and Canada.

In another post, Oreo recommended checking the label on the product for updated information.

The ingredients for Oreos depend on the type of cookie. However, none of the ingredients list pig milk and there is no evidence that Oreo uses milk from pigs in its products.

Some studies and articles have also noted that pig milk is not a viable agricultural product. 

Some of the reasons include that “it is harder to get milk from [pigs]” and that “they also produce less milk than a cow”, as news agency the Guardian explains.

If you're still unsure about a product's ingredients or halal certification, always check the packaging.

Republish our content for free

We believe that everyone needs the facts.

You can republish the text of this article free of charge, both online and in print. However, we ask that you pay attention to these simple guidelines. In a nutshell:

1. Do not include images, as in most cases we do not own the copyright.

2. Please do not edit the article.

3. Make sure you credit "Africa Check" in the byline and don't forget to mention that the article was originally published on

For publishers: what to do if your post is rated false

A fact-checker has rated your Facebook or Instagram post as “false”, “altered”, “partly false” or “missing context”. This could have serious consequences. What do you do?

Click on our guide for the steps you should follow.

Publishers guide

Africa Check teams up with Facebook

Africa Check is a partner in Meta's third-party fact-checking programme to help stop the spread of false information on social media.

The content we rate as “false” will be downgraded on Facebook and Instagram. This means fewer people will see it.

You can also help identify false information on Facebook. This guide explains how.

Add new comment

Restricted HTML

  • Allowed HTML tags: <a href hreflang> <em> <strong> <cite> <blockquote cite> <code> <ul type> <ol start type> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <h2 id> <h3 id> <h4 id> <h5 id> <h6 id>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Web page addresses and email addresses turn into links automatically.
limit: 600 characters

Want to keep reading our fact-checks?

We will never charge you for verified, reliable information. Help us keep it that way by supporting our work.

Become a newsletter subscriber

Support independent fact-checking in Africa.