Back to Africa Check

How many African countries ban same-sex relations?

Thirty-one countries in Africa have laws that criminalise homosexuality, according to the International Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Trans, and Intersex Association. They include Egypt, Ghana, Kenya, Nigeria and Uganda.

More facts

For reading our fact-checks!

Did you know that our work is free to read and share? Support our work to continue reading.

Subscribe to our newsletter

Support independent fact-checking in Africa.