Back to Africa Check

We will open two new universities to students in the next five years

  • When made: January 2014

  • Where made: ANC manifesto
  • The governing party can remove this promise from its to-do list.

In October 2013 there were 23 higher education institutions in South Africa, according to the department of higher education.

Of these, 11 were traditional universities and six were universities of technology (former technikons). The remaining six were comprehensive universities, created by merging a university and a technikon.

In February 2014 two new higher education institutions – Sol Plaatje University in Kimberley in the Northern Cape province and the University of Mpumalanga in Nelspruit – opened their doors to students, bringing the total to 25. – Africa Check, January 2019

Note: The ANC’s 2014 manifesto was released on 11 January and the election held on 7 May. Government reporting keeps to financial years. We tracked its five-year progress in keeping the party’s promises from 1 April 2014, the start of the 2014/15 financial year, to 31 March 2019, the end of the 2018/19 financial year.

For reading our fact-checks!

Did you know that our work is free to read and share? Support our work to continue reading.

Subscribe to our newsletter

Support independent fact-checking in Africa.