Data shows no bucket toilets in Gauteng (or any SA school)

The head of education in South Africa’s Gauteng province claimed no school in the province has bucket toilets. That is true, according to the data, but also for the rest of the country.

No pupil has to use a bucket as a toilet in South Africa’s Gauteng province, according to the head of education in the province.

“There are no schools using the bucket system in Gauteng today,” member of the executive council Panyaza Lesufi told a school sanitation seminar in Johannesburg this week.

Benson on Twitter asked Africa Check if this was true. 

School infrastructure data supports claim

Lesufi’s claim is supported by national data.

The 2015 national education infrastructure management system reported that no school in Gauteng used buckets for toilets. Out of 2,071 schools, 100 had mobile toilets, 26 had ventilated improved pit toilets, 14 had “enviro-loos” and 6 had pit toilets.

Gauteng is not alone in this achievement, however. None of South Africa’s 23,589 schools were reportedly using bucket toilets in 2015.

However there were 94 schools in the Eastern Cape, 11 in the Free State, 15 in KwaZulu-Natal and 8 in Mpumalanga that were reported to have no toilet facilities.

(Note: Education experts have raised concerns about the reliability of the department of basic education’s school infrastructure statistics.)

‘There are toilets in very bad condition’

However, this doesn’t mean school sanitation in the province is up to scratch.

Education advocacy group Equal Education conducted a social audit of conditions at 200 Gauteng schools in May and April of 2015.

“There are toilets in very bad condition in Gauteng schools. But as far as we are aware there are no bucket toilets,” said senior researcher Samuel Shapiro.

Conclusion: Data shows no bucket toilets in any SA school

The claim by the head of education in Gauteng that no schools in the province use bucket toilets is supported by national data. However, the same can be said for all schools in the country’s nine provinces.

Edited by Anim van Wyk

© Copyright Africa Check 2020. Read our republishing guidelines. You may reproduce this piece or content from it for the purpose of reporting and/or discussing news and current events. This is subject to: Crediting Africa Check in the byline, keeping all hyperlinks to the sources used and adding this sentence at the end of your publication: “This report was written by Africa Check, a non-partisan fact-checking organisation. View the original piece on their website", with a link back to this page.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Africa Check encourages frank, open, inclusive discussion of the topics raised on the website. To ensure the discussion meets these aims we have established some simple House Rules for contributions. Any contributions that violate the rules may be removed by the moderator.

Contributions must:

  • Relate to the topic of the report or post
  • Be written mainly in English

Contributions may not:

  • Contain defamatory, obscene, abusive, threatening or harassing language or material;
  • Encourage or constitute conduct which is unlawful;
  • Contain material in respect of which another party holds the rights, where such rights have not be cleared by you;
  • Contain personal information about you or others that might put anyone at risk;
  • Contain unsuitable URLs;
  • Constitute junk mail or unauthorised advertising;
  • Be submitted repeatedly as comments on the same report or post;

By making any contribution you agree that, in addition to these House Rules, you shall be bound by Africa Check's Terms and Conditions of use which can be accessed on the website.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.