Winning journalists of the first AFP-sponsored African fact-checking awardAre you a reporter for an Africa-based media organisation? Has a report you published or broadcast exposed a claim from a public figure or institution to be misleading or wrong?

The African Fact-Checking Awards are in their second year — the only awards that honour journalism by media based in Africa that exposes misleading claims made by public figures and institutions.

The winners of the awards will be announced at a ceremony to be held in Africa in November.

The organisers & sponsors

The organisers of this award are Africa Check and the AFP Foundation, the non-profit media training arm of the Paris-based AFP agency.

The awards are operated in partnership with the African Media Initiative, the largest media industry body on the continent. Funding for the prizes has come from the AFP Foundation, the Shuttleworth Foundation and Africa Check.

The criteria for eligibility

To be eligible, the entries must be original pieces of fact-checking journalism first published or broadcast between 1 September 2014 and 31 August 2015, by a media house based in Africa.

The work may be published in print or online, broadcast on the radio or television or published in a blog.

The work may have been published or broadcast in any language but, to be eligible for the competition, an accurate translation into either French or English must be made available to the judges.

Current staff of the AFP news agency or Africa Check are not eligible for the competition.

The judging process

A six-member jury of eminent journalists from Europe and Africa will be formed in June.

All entries sent into the competition before midnight on 31 August 2015 will be sifted to produce a short-list to go to the judges. The entries for the competition will all be judged on the following four criteria.

  • The significance for wider society of the claim investigated
  • How the claim was tested against the available evidence
  • How well the piece presented the evidence for and against the claim
  • The impact that the publication had on public debate on the topic

A winner and two runners-up will be selected, and announced at an event in Africa in November. The winner will receive a cash prize of €2000 and the two runners-up a prize of €1000 each.

The decisions of the judges are final.


Fields marked with a * are required.

Enter our awards

Please provide contact details for the editor-in-chief of the organisation who published the work and can confirm this as your own work or that of a team of which you are the representative

If you are unable to provide a link and want to send a PDF, or for other formats, please email

If the work is the result of a team effort, you may name other members of the team. Should your entry win the awards, their names will be added to the winners’ certificates and you will be responsible for sharing the award prize money among those named.

In the next four boxes, please describe how your report meets the criteria.

TERMS AND CONDITIONS To be eligible, entries for this competition must:

  • Be the original work of the individual or team identified in the entry form as the author.
  • Have been published or broadcast for the first time by a media house based in Africa between 1 September 2014 and 31 August 2015
  • Be received by the organisers before midnight GMT on 31 August 2015. Late entries will not be accepted
  • Be received by the organisers via this entry form below. No other means of sending in entries is allowed
  • Be presented in either French or English
  • By submitting this form, the entrant confirms that they are  the authors of the work, and that in the case of any dispute about this, this is entirely the entrant's responsibility
  • Should the entrant win a prize in the awards, we will send the money to a bank account to be nominated by them.
  • At the shortlisting stage a representative of the jury may seek clarification on some points
  • Entrants must agree to do media interviews and/or reports about the awards if they win
  • Entrants for the award must agree to accept the jury’s decision as final.

If you have problems filling in this entry form, please email